Posted in Writing

My project: An introduction

Almost weekly, I decided to update on my current writing project to those who like to read my blog. I have been writing my current project since the very beginning of 2017. I have been planning this particular story for 3 years and it has taken me so long to get to where I am today. It is a fantasy story created in a world by myself. It also has around 4 different storylines in the same book, which has been a challenge for me, but also fun to write. I’m happy to share some of its information with you.

My project is titled simply as ‘Not in my Name’. Why? Because as I was planning this story, I found it to be very political. People were basically bullied for who they are (I will get to that later!) The phrase ‘Not in my Name’ is a phrase used to describe political things happening in this world and I’ve seen it written on placards during protests for lots of things such as the EU referendum over here in the UK. Not only that, but it is the name of a song from a band called ‘Ashestoangels’ and they have stated that this song is very political. I could sit here and write about what they said about it, but instead, I am going to post a link so you can see it for yourself. I may warn you it is a heavy metal song so if you don’t like that sort of thing, you can move on if you would like. This can be viewed here

3 years ago, I had planned to write a Grandomina fanfiction. If you don’t know, Grandomina is a world created by Laurence Beveridge, former singer of Fearless Vampire Killers (Broke up July of 2016). He wrote three books called Ruple and Evelyn, Militia of the Lost and Unbreakable Hearts. As I was planning to write this story, creating all these characters, I found them too good to be in a fanfiction, but in an original story. So I started to create this original story. I went through several characters that ended up being cut from the story, but here I will show you the four characters and the island that I created. The inspiration for this story came from many political points, including the EU referendum and the US election. I found them all very interesting and decided to include them into my story.

The story is set in a place called Praelin Island. And there are around four cities in this particular island. It took me a long while to build this island because I had never done it before. But I think I did a pretty good job of it. The cities are called Attrocopi, Kedattri, Pambihira and Jerralyn. Each has its own political view and are basically run differently. Political views have become a strong point for me since I have seen a lot of politics happen in the UK and the US. I don’t want to give too much away about them yet because I plan to write a little more about the island in a separate post.

The main characters that have main storylines are called Harley, Clarke, Cyrus and Titch. Originally there was going to be five. But the fifth character was cut from it. I felt like it had nothing to do with the story. That character is still in the story in Titch’s storyline but is not seen as much as that character would’ve done originally. There is also the main antagonist called Will. Simply put, he is the king of Attrocopi City. Again, I plan to do a separate post about my multiple storyline plots without giving too much away there.

This post is just an introduction to my project and I’m happy to share non-spoilers with all of you guys. I have lots of posts planned to tell you about my project which I think you will all enjoy. So, until next time, my lovelies!

Lydia Xx

 

Author:

I'm a writer. I love writing. And Reading. And all of you guys are invited to my blog!

One thought on “My project: An introduction

  1. Lydia, this sounds really intriguing and I’m interested in this already. It sounds like something that I would definitely purchase. I look forward to hearing more about this project. Keep up the great work! =)
    Jared

    Like

Leave a Reply

